Logo Briatte

Notary office in Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat

Alain-Xavier BRIATTE, Partner Notary

notary office in Saint-Jean-Cap-FerraT

notaries

The notary’s office in Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat mainly serves international banking clients carrying out transactions relating to property assets in France. This may include financing, purchase, sale or transfer operations. The notary’s office works with a network of specialists in various European jurisdictions in order to assist clients prior to their intended transaction.

Partner NOTARy

Alain-Xavier BRIATTE is a notary and mainly provides assistance to foreign credit institutions regarding credit transactions in France.
Maître BRIATTE is a former lawyer at the Paris bar (1998-2007) - a graduate of the École de formation du Barreau de Paris who retrained as a notary in 2012 - and began his career in banking and finance law at Clifford Chance in Paris and London (lawyers, banking and finance department).
Working in the legal departments of banks, he joined JPMorgan Asset Management Europe (Vice President, Legal & Compliance) in London and Luxembourg, and was a member of the Comex Europe (legal compliance) of General Electric Capital (GE Capital) Immobilier Europe.
Follow Maître BRIATTE on Linkedin

ReFeRENCE work

LexisNexis’s Financement et pratique du crédit [Finance and Credit Practice], in the Pratique notariale [Notarial practice] collection (795 pages), originally published in 2017, analyses the arrangements and guarantees that accompany the granting and management of property financing. It is a decision-making tool for credit practitioners arbitrating the appropriate arrangements regarding the granting of a loan, its repayment, circulation, renegotiation and non-payment, the enforcement of security interests, and the legal consequences for companies in difficulty.

Our expertise: Notarial financing law and credit transactions

Notarial financing law and credit transactions

Calanques

With regard to the volume of its documented credit transactions, the notary’s office has developed a particular expertise in France. The notary’s office provides or issues advice at all stages of a property loan, from its formalisation until its amicable or contentious settlement. The granting of a loan, the management of guarantees, the repayment and renegotiation of a loan, payment default, enforcement of security interests, company in difficulty or over-indebtedness are all potential stages in the life of a credit agreement, and which should be considered in advance.

Property and inheritance

Calanques

Buying or selling property in France is a complex operation, particularly if you live abroad and are already subject to a different civil and tax regime. Looking beyond a one-off purchase, the aim is to build up assets, manage them and transfer them, under appropriate conditions. Inheritance issues and issues relating to the sale of property and assets are therefore linked and legal or tax decisions made at the time of a purchase impact freedom of choice and inheritance opportunities in the future, in case of resale or succession.

News

September 2022

Change in interest rate and the need of a new notarized deed

During the period of renegotiation of the contractual conditions of an existing loan, the lender often wonders to what extent the notary who executed the initial notarised deed of financing will have to intervene again to accommodate the new contractual terms, including a change in interest rate (variable to fixed and vice versa, or variable to variable), and what would be the terms of their intervention.

July 2022

The impact of the reform of 15 September 2021 on the pledge of SCI shares

Since a law of 4 January 1978, supplemented by an implementing decree of 3 July 1978, the pledge of SCI (sociétés civiles immobilières: real estate companies) shares was subject to a regime distinct from that of SARL (limited liability company) and SNC (general partnership) shares. The first reform of the 2006 securities law modified the pledge of shares in SARLs and SNCs by making it subject to the pledge of tangible personal property.

July 2022

Guarantees of the financing of the various methods of acquisition of the property, namely bare ownership, life annuity, forward sale.

This Client Memorandum discusses the terms and conditions of the various acquisition methods, as well as the consequences of these acquisition methods on the lender's guarantees, particularly with regard to: Acquisition in bare ownership (I), Acquisition by life annuity (II), Forward sale (III).

June 2022

Spouses' consent to surety bonds, subscribed by their spouse to guarantee the borrowing of an SCI

When an SCI intends to obtain a real estate loan to finance an acquisition, it is best practice, for the bank, to seek the surety bond of one or more shareholders of the SCI.

See all news

Logo Briatte

Office notarial de Saint-jean-Cap-Ferrat

Alain-Xavier BRIATTE, Notaire Associé

L'office notarial à saint-Jean-De-Cap-ferrat

NOTAIRES

L’office notarial à Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat accueille principalement une clientèle bancaire internationale en vue de réaliser toute opération ayant un lien avec un actif immobilier sur le territoire français. Il peut s’agir d’un financement, d’une acquisition, d’une vente, ou d’une opération de transmission. L’office notarial agit au travers d'un réseau de spécialistes sur les différentes juridictions européennes en vue d’accompagner la problématique du client en amont.

Notaire Associé

Alain-Xavier BRIATTE est notaire et assiste principalement les Établissements de crédit étrangers dans les opérations de crédit sur la France. Me BRIATTE est ancien avocat au barreau de Paris (1998-2007) - Lauréat de l’école de formation du barreau de Paris et passerelle avocat-notaire (2012) – et débute sa carrière dans le domaine du droit bancaire et financier chez Clifford Chance à Paris et à Londres (avocats, département banque-finance).
En direction juridique de banques, il intègre successivement JPMorgan Asset Management Europe (Vice President, Legal & Compliance) à Londres et au Luxembourg, et le Comex Europe (conformité juridique) de la banque General Electric Capital (GE Capital) Immobilier Europe.
Suivez Maître BRIATTE sur Linkedin

Ouvrage de référence

L’ouvrage « Financement et pratique du crédit », chez LEXIS NEXIS, collection « pratique notariale » (795 pages) publié dans sa deuxième version en 2020, analyse les montages et garanties qui accompagnent la délivrance et la gestion d'un financement immobilier. Les praticiens du crédit y retrouvent un support d'aide à la décision en vue d’arbitrer les montages opportuns, qu’on se trouve au stade de l'octroi du crédit, son remboursement, sa circulation, sa renégociation, le défaut de paiement, la réalisation des sûretés, et les conséquences du droit de l'entreprise en difficulté.

NOS EXPERTISES : FINANCEMENT ET IMMOBILIER

Droit notarial du financement et opérations de crédit

Calanques

Au regard du volume d’opérations de crédit documentées, l’office notarial a développé une compétence particulière sur le territoire français. L’office notarial instrumente ou délivre un conseil au regard de tous les stades de la vie du crédit immobilier, de sa formalisation, jusqu’à son dénouement amiable ou contentieux.

Immobilier et patrimoine

Calanques

Acheter ou vendre un bien immobilier en France est une opération complexe d’autant plus si l’on est un résident étranger déjà contraint à son propre régime civil et fiscal. Au-delà de cette opération d’achat ponctuelle, l’enjeu est de constituer un patrimoine, le gérer, et le transmettre, dans des conditions adaptées.

Actualités

septembre 2022

Changement de taux, et nécessité d’un nouvel acte authentique

Renégociation du crédit – Changement du taux d’intérêt du crédit et nécessité d’un acte authentique Au terme de la période de renégociation des conditions contractuelles d'un prêt existant, le prêteur s'interroge souvent sur le point de savoir dans quelle mesure le notaire ayant reçu l'acte authentique initial de financement devra réintervenir pour accueillir les nouveaux termes contractuels et ce y compris un changement de taux d’intérêt (variable vers fixe ou vice versa, ou variable vers variable), et quels seraient les modalités de son intervention.

juillet 2022

L’incidence de la réforme du 15 septembre 2021 sur le nantissement de parts sociales de SCI

Depuis une loi du 4 janvier 1978, complétée par un décret d’application en date du 3 juillet 1978, le nantissement des parts sociales de SCI était soumis à un régime distinct de celui des parts sociales de SARL et SNC. La première réforme du droit des sûretés de 2006 avait modifié le nantissement des parts de SARL et SNC en le soumettant au gage des meubles corporels. Autant dire que cette réforme n’avait pas mis fin au dualisme du nantissement des parts sociales.

juillet 2022

Garanties du financement des différents modes d’acquisition de la propriété, à savoir nue-propriété, viager, vente à terme.

Ce Client Memorandum revient sur les modalités des différents modes d’acquisition, ainsi que les conséquences de ces modes d’acquisition sur les garanties du prêteur, notamment en ce qui concerne : L’acquisition en nue-propriété (I), L'acquisition en viager (II), La vente à terme (III)

juin 2022

Le consentement du conjoint au cautionnement, souscrit par son époux pour garantir l’emprunt d’une SCI

Lorsqu’une SCI entend obtenir un prêt immobilier pour financer une acquisition, il est de bonne pratique, pour la banque, de solliciter le cautionnement d’un ou des associés de la SCI.

Consulter toutes les actualités